Tualatin Valley Symphony

making beautiful music since 2007

formerly known as Starlight Symphony
Navigation Menu

A Winter Concert in Oregon

Posted by on Feb 24, 2017 in Past Performances | 0 comments

The orchestra opened its February 12, 2017 performance with a chamber symphony work entitled Three Places in Oregon composed in 2008 by Salem cellist and composer, Dr. Joseph Harchanko, pictured at right. The piece was revised specially for this performance. Its three movements, Painted Hills, Cape Foulweather, and Wizard Island, were inspired by three...

Read More

Classic Romanticism

Posted by on Nov 2, 2016 in Music Selection, Past Performances, Repertoire | 0 comments

Concert No. 1 • October 23, 2016 at 7:00 p.m. This program of classic Romanticism included Franz Schubert’s “Unfinished” Symphony, also known as Symphony No. 8, D.759, and Robert Schumann’s Symphony No. 1, Op. 38, which is well known as his “Spring” Symphony. Additionally, violinist Alexandra Wenig was our featured...

Read More

Website Update – 9/28/2016 at 1:11pm

Posted by on Sep 28, 2016 in Website | 0 comments

Well, in making a few edits to the homepage during my lunch hour today something went wrong.  I will fix it as soon as I can, I promise.  Thanks so much for your patience. In the meanwhile, if you need information about our upcoming concert in October, visit our Concert Schedule page or other pages on this site by looking at our Sitemap.  Visit our...

Read More

Sensuous Summer

Posted by on May 25, 2016 in Past Performances, Repertoire | 0 comments

Concert No. 4 – Free Admission Sunday, May 15, 2016, 7:00 p.m. It’s almost summer – and we celebrated it with the sensuous music of our final concert of the season, Sensuous Summer.  Admission to this performance was completely free and featured the youthful Serenade for Winds by Richard Strauss, the sensuous Adagio for Strings by Samuel...

Read More

New World

Posted by on Apr 15, 2016 in Past Performances, Repertoire | 0 comments

Concert No. 3 – New World: Dvořák, Smetana, and Debussy Sunday, April 3, 2016 at 7:00p.m. Audience members journeyed with us from the Czech homeland as depicted in The Moldau by Smetana, to the West as depicted in Symphony No. 9 “New World” by Dvořák, and then ventured into fantasy in the Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun by Debussy. These...

Read More